The International Institute for Field-Being

  

Welcome to the IIFB

 

 

About the IIFB

 Find us on Facebook!

∞ IIFB at the American Philosophical Association

 

2021 American Philosophical Association Eastern Division Meeting
January 7 - 9 & January 14-16, 2021 * Virtual Meeting
The IIFB is holding two sessions at the 2021 Eastern APA meeting.
Session Details
 -- Please note: speaker order differs from printed program

 

Friday, January 15, 2021 (2 – 3:50 pm EST)

Topic: Environmental Ethics: Fields of Interconnection

Chair: Melanie Johnson-Moxley (University of Missouri)

 

Speakers:

 

8:00 pm Central Europe/2:00 pm Eastern US/1:00 pm Central US

Maja Milcinski (University of Ljubljana)

“Cultivating the Inner Nature by Preserving the Complexity of Gaia” 

 

8:30 pm CE/2:30 pm EST

Miran Bozovic (University of Ljubljana)

“On Sentient Matter”

 

3:00 pm EST

Laura Weed (The College of Saint Rose)

“Ecosystems: Interconnected Dynamic Fields” 

 

3:30 – 3:50 pm EST

David White

 

Friday, January 8, 2021 (4 – 7 pm EST)

 

Topic: Polanyi, Aesthetics, and a Meaningful Life

Chair: Melanie Johnson-Moxley (University of Missouri)

 

Speakers:

 

11:00 pm Central Europe/4:00 pm Eastern US/3:00 pm Central US

Sietske Dijkstra (Dijkstra Agency/Utrecht/NL)

“Discoveries in Science, the Arts, and Professional Practice: Performative Qualities of Polanyi’s Tacit Knowing”

 

4:30 pm EST

James Clement van Pelt (Yale University)

“Denizens of the Tacit Dimension”

 

5:00 pm EST

Charles Lowney (Hollins University)

“Beautiful Minds: Gregory Bateson on Humans, Animals, and Ecological Systems”

 

5:30 pm EST

Robert Hyatt (Independent Scholar)

“Trauma, Metaphor, and Meaning”

 

6:00 pm EST/4:00 pm MST

Walter Gulick (Montana State University, Billings)

“Michael Polanyi and the Relation of Fields to Discovery and Problem Solving"

 

Contemporary field-being research


Resources

 

.